Luke Campbell to challenge Jorge Linares on September 23 in the US

28/07/2017 10:26

Three-weight world champion Jorge Linares (42-3, 27 KOs) will defend his WBA lightweight title against British challenger Luke Campbell (17-1, 14 KOs) on September 23 at the Forum in Los Angeles, USA.

Linares, 31, will also put his WBC Diamond and Ring Magazine belts on the line when he meets 2012 Olympic gold medallist Campbell, 29, who has racked up five victories since a points defeat to Yvan Mendy in 2015, stopping all of his last three opponents.

"It's an honour to be fighting Jorge Linares for the WBA World title, WBC Diamond and Ring Magazine titles in one of the biggest fights in the division," said Campbell.

"I've worked my way from Olympic champion to the number 1 spot in the WBA and WBC rankings, and I feel now is the time to take my chance.

"All the pressure is on Jorge headlining back in the States on HBO and I am so confident I am going to leave with all three belts - I have tremendous respect for Jorge and this is going to be an unbelievable fight but this is the opportunity I have been waiting for as a professional and I must and will take it on September 23."

Venezuela's Linares, who will be fighting a British fighter for the fourth time after beating Kevin Mitchell and Anthony Crolla twice, is looking forward to fighting in the US for the first time since 2014, and topping a major card.

"I am excited to make my return to the United States and to headline an HBO show for the first time," Linares said.

"I know Luke Campbell is a tough competitor with an incredible amateur and professional background, but I am confident that I will emerge victorious on September 23."