Lee Selby added to Eubank Jr-Abraham card

16/06/2017 17:12

IBF featherweight champion Lee Selby (24-1, 9 KOs) will face mandatory challenger Jonathan Victor Barros (41-4-1, 22 KOs) on July 15 at Wembley Arena on the undercard of the super middleweight fight between Chris Eubank Jr and Arthur Abraham.

The 30-year-old Welshman had been scheduled to face Barros, 33, last January in Las Vegas, but the Argentine was ruled out 24 hours before the fight because he did not meet the licensing requirements of the Nevada State Athletic Commission, due to a problem with his medical tests.

Selby has successfully defended his world title against Fernando Montiel and Eric Hunter since dethroning Evgeny Gradovich in May 2015.

He was last in action against Spain's Andoni Gago, who he stopped in nine rounds last March in a non title bout.

Barros is a former WBA featherweight champion and has won his last seven fights since he lost to reigning WBC lightweight champion Mikey Garcia by eighth round TKO in November 2012.

Selby had hoped to fight British rival Carl Frampton (23-1, 14 KOs) this summer but Barros remained the IBF's mandatory challenger despite the cancellation and Selby was ordered to face him.

Former WBA champion Frampton instead faces Mexican Andres Gutierrez in Belfast on July 29.

"Barros is going to pay, simple as that," said Selby.

"I was mucked around last time because he and his team couldn't get their act together and this time, all I can say is, I can't wait.

"I am absolutely thrilled to be fighting him at last, on a huge bill in London and with the stage set for me.

"I have been a worthy IBF world champion and beating a tough customer like Barros will put me in the hot seat for a fight with Carl Frampton or Scott Quigg, or any of the other world champions.

"Either of those Brits would suit me down to earth. But first it is Barros and I'm determined to make him pay. I don't need any motivation for this one. I was there in Las Vegas ready to fight and through no fault of my own it didn't happen. It is now and Barros will be taken apart.

"I've never been so up for a fight in my life, not even when I won the world title. This is all about getting me back in the limelight, showing the fans what they have missed and becoming a hero in Wales and the rest of Britain."