Juan Manuel Marquez retires from boxing

05/08/2017 08:44

Mexican great Juan Manuel Marquez announced his retirement from boxing on Friday.

"Today is a special and sad day for me because I'm announcing my retirement," Márquez told ESPN Deportes TV show Golpe a Golpe.

"The injuries pushed me to make this decision. It hurts, but I believe the right moment to put an end to my career has arrived.

"I would have loved to do a final fight to say goodbye inside the ring, but I have to listen to my body, and it was telling me that the right moment to stop boxing is now."

Marquez, 43, held world titles at featherweight, super featherweight, lightweight and light welterweight, but will be most remembered for brutally knocking out Manny Pacquiao with a right hand in 2012 to put an end to a four-fight series, losing two disputed points decisions after their first bout ended in a draw in 2004.

In his last fight, Marquez outpointed Mike Alvarado in May 2014,

Marquez has a record of 56-7-1 with 40 knockouts.