Cotto outpoints Kamegai to win vacant WBO light middleweight title

27/08/2017 07:37

Four-weight world champion Miguel Cotto (41-5, 33 KOs) outpointed Japan's Yoshihiro Kamegai (27-4-2, 24 KOs) to win the WBO light middleweight title on Saturday night at the StubHub Center, Carson, California, USA.

Cotto, 36, won his sixth world titlle by a 12-round unanimous decision with scores of 120-108, 119-109 and 118-110 from the judges.

The Puerto Rican dominated the action from the start with combination punching, although Kamegai, 34, always kept coming forward.

Cotto’s punch output decreased in the later rounds but he remianed in control with good movement.

Cotto finished the fight strong, connecting with hooks in the final round.

“I tried to do my best, and I think I did that tonight,” said Cotto. “I am happy with my performance. Kamegai is a tough fighter."

 Cotto said he will retire at the end of the year.

Also on the card, Mexico's Rey Vargas (30-0, 22 KOs) successfully defended his WBC super bantamweight title for the first time, outpointing American challenger Ronny Rios (28-2, 13 KOs) by scores of 115-113 and 118-110 twice.