Conor McGregor signs to fight Floyd Mayweather

18/05/2017 13:34

UFC lightweight champion Conor McGregor says he has signed a contract to fight former boxing pound-for-pound king Floyd Mayweather.

The Irish mixed martial artist has agreed a deal with UFC president Dana White to meet the American in a boxing match and now says, it's up to Mayweather to make the megafight happen.

"The first, and most important part of this historic contract has now officially been signed off on," McGregor said in a statement to Themaclife.com.

"Congratulations to all parties involved. We now await (Mayweather's adviser) Al Haymon and his boxer's signature in the coming days."

McGregor did not specify on the terms of the deal.

"The McGregor side is done," said White. "I'm starting to work on the Mayweather side now.

"I'm not saying the fight will happen, but I've got one side done, now it's time to work on the other. If we can come to a deal with Haymon and Mayweather, the fight's gonna happen."

Mayweather retired from boxing in September 2015 after equalling Rocky Marciano's unbeaten record of 49-0.

"There's only one fight that makes business sense," Mayweather said on Wednesday. "I came out of retirement because I'm a businessman and I want to give the world what they want to see.

"McGregor's a fighter. I'm a fighter. This is what the fight fans and MMA fans want to see."